Sparkly Jesuses

      

     

I used to be able to name almost every major period in art history along with a piece from that period. I’d start with Paleolithic Cave Art and Venus of Willendorf and and go on from there. Art History for me, was a promise of a future full of beautiful things. If I studied art, then my life and career would be exciting, changing and constantly filled with lovely and curious things.

I think that’s why I love Tchotchke so much. Knick knacks are a visual plethora of colour and beauty (in a deliciously unforgivable cheesy and terrible manner, I know). Putting a sparkly Jesus next to a Japanese wood block print and a marble replica of Nike of Samothrace is like a pile of beautiful clutter. I want a life like that. I want my daily life to be as exciting as a sparkly Jesus.

Leave a comment